The Humanities
You are not logged in   |   Your basket is empty
About Us Inventory Log In Basket Links

Search our stock
Search Type

Welcome to The Humanities Bookstore
The Humanities Bookstore offers for sale second-hand, new, academic and antiquarian books on the Humanities and Social Sciences and other subjects.
By ordering directly from us through our own website here at the Humanities Bookstore you are guaranteed priority service with preferential postage rates cheaper than through any multi dealer site we list on.
You can currently Search our Stock by Title, Author, Keyword or ISBN.
You can also Browse by Category, by clicking on the category you require, you will then be offered one or more sub categories to refine your selection.
Once you log on, or create a new account, you will be able to make orders via our secure server.
Book Image
Edited By Eldridge,Bruce F. And Edman,John D.
This book is designed primarily as a textbook for graduate and postgraduate courses in Medical, Public Health and Veterinary Entomology. Its uniqueness is that its emphasis is on disease as opposed to arthropods. It includes general discussions of epidemiology, transmission, disease control, vector control and disease surveillance. In addition, it contains chapters oriented towards the many specific arthropod-borne diseases. Furthermore, the book discusses the many direct impacts that parasitic insects have on human and animal health. The arthropods themselves are dealt with in two introductory chapters. 659pp.
Kluwer Academic Publishers, 2004, Cloth/Laminated Boards, Book Condition: Like New, Jacket Condition: No d/j as Published. Revised Edition. . 4to - over 9" - 12" tall.
ISBN: 1402014139
Add To Basket
Inventory #18580
Price: £ 150.00 GBP ($ 195.45 approx. - € 165.75 approx.)
Book Image
Cerveny, Randy
Why did T-Rex become extinct? Why did the Mayan civilisation disappear: if the ancient Israelis did indeed cross the Red Sea, as reported in the Bible, what weather phenomena might have produced the parting of the waters? Why was nearly all human life swept away 73,000 years ago? And what factors created the Great American Dustbowl of the 1930s? The extraordinary people who are interested in asking - and answering - such questions are known as climatologists. In a lively narrative full of intriguing facts, award-winning, internationally known climatologist Randy Cerveny takes the reader on a fascinating tour of some of the world's most perplexing and provocative climate mysteries, past and present. Cerveny explains the science of climate study - from digging ice cores in Antarctica to counting tree rings in Arizona - and the various specialists whose ingenious techniques help to sort out climate's intricate components. He also delves into the human impact of weather through fictional introductions to each chapter that depict how climate change might have affected a typical inhabitant of the ancient Sahara or Indus Valley, a peasant during Europe's 'Little Ice Age', or an aviation expert probing a deadly jet crash in New York City. Finally, he discusses research that attempts to forecast the weather of the next 10,000 years - essential information for planning the nuclear waste depository at Yucca Mountain, Nevada. For readers of "An Inconvenient Truth", devotees of the Weather Channel, history buffs, popular science fans, or anyone who wonders what makes our weather tick - and how it will impact our future, this engaging book offers much to ponder and to enjoy. 328pp.
Prometheus Books, 2009, Cloth, Book Condition: New, Jacket Condition: New. . . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 9781591027201
Add To Basket
Inventory #21954
Price: £ 12.50 GBP ($ 16.29 approx. - € 13.81 approx.)
Book Image
Edited By Beveridge,Malcolm C.M. And McAndrew,Brendan J.
Referred to in the Bible, pictured on the wall-friezes of ancient Egyptian tombs, and a subject of fascination for generations of scientists, the tilapias (Cichlidae: Tilapiini) have featured in the diet and culture of humankind for thousands of years. The 20th century has seen their spread from Africa throughout the tropics and sub-tropics, largely for food and fisheries purposes. This book attempts to pull together our knowledge of this important group - their biology and fisheries and aquaculture - in a single volume. A succession of chapters by acknowledged authorities covers evolution, phylogenetic relationships and biogeography, reproductive biology, mating systems and parental care, diet, feeding and digestive physiology, environmental physiology and energetics, the role of tilapias in ecosystems, population dynamics and management, genetics, seed production, nutrition, farming, economics and marketing. The book is aimed at biologists, fisheries scientists, aquaculturists, and all interested in aquatic ecology. 505pp.
Kluwer Academic Publishers, 2000, Cloth/Laminated Boards, Book Condition: Like New, Jacket Condition: No d/j as Published. . . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 041280090X
Add To Basket
Inventory #14804
Price: £ 100.00 GBP ($ 130.30 approx. - € 110.50 approx.)
Book Image
Edited By Manns,M.P.,Chapman,R.W.,Stiehl,A. And Wiesner,R.H.
Primary sclerosing cholangitis is a chronic disease of the intra and extrahepatic bile ducts leading to obstructions and dilatations followed by liver cirrhosis and in some cases cholangiocarcinoma. In 50% of cases primary sclerosing cholangitis is associated with inflammatory bowel disease. The cause of the disease is unknown and many questions concerning the pathogenesis still remain open. In recent years our knowledge of the natural course, the risk of cholangiocarcinoma and the possibility of medical, endoscopic and surgical treatment has increased. Ursodeoxycholic acid, endoscopic treatment and liver transplantation have become standard therapeutic procedures. This book is the proceedings of the Falk Workshop held on October 3, 1997, in Freiburg, Germany (Part II of the Liver Week Freiburg 1997), and covers the most important aspects of this disease. 128pp.
Kluwer Academic Publishers, 1998, Cloth, Book Condition: Like New, Jacket Condition: Like New. . . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 0792387457
Add To Basket
Inventory #14879
Price: £ 20.00 GBP ($ 26.06 approx. - € 22.10 approx.)
Book Image
Costas, Lorenzo A.
This new book presents leading-edge research on Mars which is the fourth planet from the Sun in the Solar System. The planet is named after Mars, the Roman god of war. It is also referred to as the 'Red Planet' because of its reddish appearance as seen from Earth. A terrestrial planet, Mars has a thin atmosphere and surface features reminiscent both of the impact craters of the Moon and the volcanoes, valleys, deserts and polar ice caps of Earth. It is the site of Olympus Moons, the highest known mountain in the solar system, and of Valles Marineris, the largest canyon. In addition to its geographical features, Mars' rotational period and seasonal cycles are likewise similar to those of the Earth Mars has two moons, Phobos and Deimos, which are small and irregularly shaped.These may be captured asteroids, similar to 5261 Eureka, a Martian Trojan asteroid. Mars can be seen from Earth with the naked eye. Its apparent magnitude reaches -2.9, a brightness surpassed only by Venus, the Moon, and the Sun, though for much of the year Jupiter may appear brighter to the naked eye than Mars. 300pp.
Nova Science Publishers Inc., 2008, Cloth, Book Condition: New, Jacket Condition: No d/j as Published. . . 4to - over 9" - 12" tall.
ISBN: 9781600218262
Add To Basket
Inventory #27480
Price: £ 80.00 GBP ($ 104.24 approx. - € 88.40 approx.)
The Humanities Bookstore is a specialist internet department of Fireside Bookshop , based at 1 The Arcade, High Street, Littlehampton, West Sussex, BN17 5AB, U.K.
For more information and any enquiries, you can email us at or phone +44 (0)1903 721985.