The Humanities Bookstore.com
You are not logged in   |   1 book(s) in basket
About Us Inventory Log In Basket Links

Search our stock
Search Type

Categories
 
Welcome to The Humanities Bookstore
The Humanities Bookstore offers for sale second-hand, new, academic and antiquarian books on the Humanities and Social Sciences and other subjects.
By ordering directly from us through our own website here at the Humanities Bookstore you are guaranteed priority service with preferential postage rates cheaper than through any multi dealer site we list on.
You can currently Search our Stock by Title, Author, Keyword or ISBN.
You can also Browse by Category, by clicking on the category you require, you will then be offered one or more sub categories to refine your selection.
Once you log on, or create a new account, you will be able to make orders via our secure server.
Book Image
Cerveny, Randy
Why did T-Rex become extinct? Why did the Mayan civilisation disappear: if the ancient Israelis did indeed cross the Red Sea, as reported in the Bible, what weather phenomena might have produced the parting of the waters? Why was nearly all human life swept away 73,000 years ago? And what factors created the Great American Dustbowl of the 1930s? The extraordinary people who are interested in asking - and answering - such questions are known as climatologists. In a lively narrative full of intriguing facts, award-winning, internationally known climatologist Randy Cerveny takes the reader on a fascinating tour of some of the world's most perplexing and provocative climate mysteries, past and present. Cerveny explains the science of climate study - from digging ice cores in Antarctica to counting tree rings in Arizona - and the various specialists whose ingenious techniques help to sort out climate's intricate components. He also delves into the human impact of weather through fictional introductions to each chapter that depict how climate change might have affected a typical inhabitant of the ancient Sahara or Indus Valley, a peasant during Europe's 'Little Ice Age', or an aviation expert probing a deadly jet crash in New York City. Finally, he discusses research that attempts to forecast the weather of the next 10,000 years - essential information for planning the nuclear waste depository at Yucca Mountain, Nevada. For readers of "An Inconvenient Truth", devotees of the Weather Channel, history buffs, popular science fans, or anyone who wonders what makes our weather tick - and how it will impact our future, this engaging book offers much to ponder and to enjoy. 328pp.
Prometheus Books, 2009, Cloth, Book Condition: New, Jacket Condition: New. . . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 9781591027201
Add To Basket
Inventory #21954
Price: £ 12.50 GBP ($ 16.50 approx. - € 14.50 approx.)
Book Image
Wetzel, Dan ; Peter, Josh and Passan, Jeff

Gotham Books, 2010, Cloth, Book Condition: New, Jacket Condition: New. . . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 9781592405701
Add To Basket
Inventory #27655
Price: £ 5.00 GBP ($ 6.60 approx. - € 5.80 approx.)
Book Image
Schiff, Francine
271pp.
Element, 1992, Paperback, Book Condition: Very Good, Jacket Condition: No d/j as Published. . . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 1852301813
Add To Basket
Inventory #29336
Price: £ 7.50 GBP ($ 9.90 approx. - € 8.70 approx.)
Book Image
Mitchell, Jane
Hall of Famers, fan favourites, and rising stars including: Ken Caminiti, Tony Gwynn, Junior Seau, LaDainian Tomlinson, Drew Brees, Trevor Hoffman, Jake Peavy, Antonio Gates, Dave Stewart, Tina Mickelson, Geoff Blum, and David Wells. The athletes may have come through San Diego, but interest in them transcends a uniform. A Red Sox fan, for example, will be as thrilled to read about Red Sox heroes Ted Williams and Dave Roberts, as a Padres fan will be. Whether someone is a die-hard or casual sports fan, interested in great people stories, or just curious about the life of a woman reporter 'in a man's world', this book has something for readers across the gamut. No one else has interviewed or done in-depth personal biographies on this particular collection of athletes. For some, the One on One program is the only in-depth and comprehensive story on their life. 638pp.
Sweet Dreams Publishing, 2010, Cloth, Book Condition: New, Jacket Condition: New. First Edition. Heavy Item Postage Quote. 4to - over 9" - 12" tall.
ISBN: 9780982446171
Add To Basket
Inventory #28883
Price: £ 18.00 GBP ($ 23.76 approx. - € 20.88 approx.)
Book Image
Editors Calabro,John J. And Dick,W.Carson
Thirteen contributors from the UK examine aspects of the relationship between infection and arthritis. Topics include acute monoarthritis, the relationships of virus and bacteria to chronic arthritis, leprosy and schistosomiasis, arboviruses, interleukin l and tumor necrosis, polymorphonuclear leukocytes, and presenting bacterial antigens to T lymphocytes. 171pp.
Kluwer Academic Publishers, 1989, Cloth/Laminated Boards, Book Condition: Like New, Jacket Condition: No d/j as Published. . . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 0746200528
Add To Basket
Inventory #15384
Price: £ 50.00 GBP ($ 66.00 approx. - € 58.00 approx.)
The Humanities Bookstore is a specialist internet department of Fireside Bookshop , based at 1 The Arcade, High Street, Littlehampton, West Sussex, BN17 5AB, U.K.
For more information and any enquiries, you can email us at info@thehumanitiesbookstore.com or phone +44 (0)1903 721985.